No one stared quite as much as I had anticipated they would.  Some little kids at the farmers market pointed and said, "Look!  Roller skates!" but no one seemed to really care as Eric and I sped down the middle of the street at about 15 miles an hour with our dog and the stroller.  
I felt like a "cool" parent in this entourage: Big dog running, Daddy long boarding, Mommy rollerblading, and baby strolling along for the ride.  

At dinner I felt good about Tali not making a mess of the baby back ribs we gave her for dinner.  I laughed and got pretty high watching her slurp down her first spaghetti noodles covered in marinara....  As if these things weren't blessings enough to spoil me rotten, Tali said "Amen" this evening after we prayed.

Eric and I looked at each other as tears welled up.  Eric was a macho man.  He didn't, but it sure looked like he was going to cry.  I wiped off a tear from my face and we clapped our hands and praised her for the new word God had given us.

With all of the important and valuable things that I thought I did today, rolling down the street with my family gang, not cooking, cleaning the laundry room, more success in potty training, helping my husband work on some projects in the yard, "teaching" Tali to eat spaghetti... none of them compare to the important and valuable things that God is doing eternally in the lives of His children.  With Tali closing our prayer tonight, we were blessed to be reminded how valuable our spiritual impact can be, even on a one-year-old.  

Oh God, thank you for this giant responsibility to raise a daughter.  Thank you for encouraging us to tell her about You every day all day long.  Help us to continue to tell her about Your majesty, Your creation, Your power and Your love. Give us wisdom to show her how to thirst for and drink living water.  Give us the strength to live lives that point toward You and make her want to passionately serve You and You alone. Amen.

Galatians 6:9 (NIV) Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.




Leave a Reply.