I finally I got my husband to read me a devotional by Charles Spurgeon because my girlfriend Molly keeps saying "my buddy Charles says..."

This particular one was a new interpretation of the dreams that Pharoah had at the time of Joseph. In it, Spurgeon talks about the skinny cows eating the fat happy cows.

Now I must interrupt myself to add a cow story from our recent Hawaii vacation. We bought milk. It tasted bad. Not like it had gone bad. It just wasn't very yummy like we were used to back home. Sure enough it was all the way from Texas. Ok, nothing against my Texan friends. I love you all, but us Californians know that happy cows produce the best milk (and cheese of course) and as my sister said after drinking this milk "this was not from a happy cow."

Ok back to Pharoah's/Spurgeon's cows. Spurgeon created the analogy that the dying skinny cows of the world and all it's troubles will always be trying (or succeeding) to devour our fat happy cows of heavenly accomplishments and good things from God.

After Eric read me this devotional I began to wonder where my fat cows were! I was overwhelmed by all that needed to be done, all the progress I wasn't making in the areas that I wanted to, and all I could see were skinny cows eating my fat cows!

I must have had a quite disturbed look on my face, because Eric asked me what was wrong. I asked him, "where are all my fat cows?!?" He pointed at Tali playing quietly in her pack'n'play. There's a fat cow right there.

I smiled. Yes. She is my fat cow.

Oh God help me to focus on the fat cows you have placed in my life. Protect my fat cows from being devoured by skinny dying cows. Thank you for the fat cows of mental health, closeness to you, and physical well being in this season of life.

Genesis 41:4

"And the ugly, thin cows ate up the seven attractive, plump cows. And Pharoah awoke."




Leave a Reply.