My sister was generous enough to watch Tali while I went rock climbing with my brother yesterday. (Yes, my family is awesome like that.) When I got home I asked if Eric was home yet. "Yeah, he's in the back murdering things."

Curious, but somehow not alarmed, I went into the back yard to find my dearly beloved husband with a hose, the dog, and a lot of black tarp and bricks. He had covered over most of the yard with the tarp and bricks and was now attempting to flood out our unwanted underground uninvited guest. The dog was supervising and hoping that a creature would soon emerge for his chasing and possibly killing pleasure. So he was murdering the grass (grass like weeds covering our back yard) and hoping that the dog would help murder our intruder.

We rarely have people over, but of course as soon as we cover the back yard with black tarp my mom, brother, several friends, Tali, and another baby decide it's a good idea to be in the back yard walking around.

If you've been in our backyard, you may remember that there is a fire pit hole in the center of the yard. It's about a foot deep and has about a three foot diameter. The black tarp completely visually covers up this hole.

I tried to warn people not to go to the center of the yard, but sure enough, someone fell in. Thankfully no one has been hurt.

Oh God, help me to listen and be in tune to your warnings. When you set out to destroy the bad and I cannot see what is underfoot, be the lamp to my feet and the light to my path. Thank You Lord!

Psalm 119:105 "Thy word is a lamp into my feet and a light unto my path"

(Thanks Amy Grant for getting this verse stuck in my heart many years ago. Thanks Mom for subjecting me to Amy Grant.)




Leave a Reply.