I used to have the perfect body. At the time, I didn't think so... until I gained 50lbs for my baby and lost about 10lbs when she came out. Then I had the perfect baby. Then after about two days, she started grunting and crying. Then after we got used to that she was perfect for a few weeks until she started pooping and puking and crying in a greater capacity. Then I had the perfect boobs, except they would change cup sizes about 4-5 times a day which made wearing a bra ridiculous. Then our baby was perfect until she was about 8 months old and rolled over. Then she was perfect because she still stayed in the general area that she was put.

However, she learned to walk several weeks later. Then she was perfect because she didn't walk very fast and she didn't explore too much. Then she was perfect because she didn't talk back to us or argue with us. Then I got my body back but then my baby decided that my skinnier body was way less fun to cuddle with.

Next she'll be using more words, going to school, making friends, texting, driving, moving out, getting married...

My girlfriend told me that when your baby turns one that there's an overwhelming wave of emotions (as if there weren't enough throughout the whole pregnancy and first year.) She told me that it's a mix of grateful and fearful hallelujahs. Oh how I hate it when I hear the truth.

Basically I've been listening to the lies that my life (or aspects of my life) always used to be perfect and never will be again. The truth is that my life has never been, nor will it ever be perfect on this earth. There are mountains and valleys in each season. There are hopes and dreams to reach for, achieve, and let go of once they've passed.

Shut up devil! I was never perfect. Trying to push me back into the past in an effort to waste my present or future will not work for me today.

Oh God, be strong in my weakness.

Heal my brokenness.

Let me gaze upon your perfection and enjoy Your peace. Let me adore Your majesty and your beauty. Forgive me for offending the past that You have already healed. You are Faithful. You are True. Forgive my blasphemy in thinking any part of me is or ever has been perfect without You. You are my God.

2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV

But he said to me, "My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness." Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ's power may rest on me.




Leave a Reply.